Feeling Pregnant

Okay, there’s been a lot going on since that positive, or BFP as we call it in the world of infertility treatments.  I’ve had 3 beta tests – that’s where they draw your blood and see if the baby’s growing as it should.  My first beta was at day 15 past retrieval, and it was at 272!  2 days later, it was somewhere around 650.  Yesterday, on day 21 past retrieval, it was at 3,604!  So, it’s quite high, although it could still be a singleton.  I don’t know how I’m going to get through these next ten days until the ultrasound without losing my mind!  I just have to know!!! 1 or 2?  Omigosh, I’m just so darn excited either way.  

I also actually FEEL pregnant now.  What does that feel like, you ask?  Well, I have hints of morning sickness.  Light abdominal pain, frequently – and I’m completely STARVING all the time.  Everyone keeps telling me obvious things, like to eat protein to stave off hunger.  I’m telling you, I can eat a ribeye and be hungry 30 minutes later.  I’m trying here.

This may be TMI for those not going through IVF – so I apologize in advance, but my doc said my progesterone was high enough that I could switch from the nightly intramuscular injections to an…ahem… alternate method.  You ladies know what I’m talking about, right?  I said, no thanks – I’ll stick to the injections.  One and done.  If my hips get too bruised I might change my mind.  But, you know what?  I only have to do them another 5 weeks, and I think if I’ve held off this long, I can make it.  BRING IT ON!!!

Leave a comment